Showing Collections: 1 - 7 of 7
June A. Dowling Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00198
Scope and Contents
Papers of Sergeant June A. Dowling, consisting of a diary, 1917-1919, photographs, postcards, a French magazine, and a travel permission, all documenting Sergeant Dowling's World War I tour of duty in France.
Dates:
1914, 1917-1919, 1932; Majority of material found in 1917-1919
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
E.R. McElligott Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00126
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of correspondence and personal papers documenting the life of E.R. McElligott, a draftsman in the 152nd Aero Squadron of the United States Army. The correspondence series contains 102 letters and several postcards written primarily by E.R. McElligott. Letters are written to various family members, particularly McElligott's sisters and parents, and describe his life in the military from enlistment to discharge. McElligott describes his travels from New York to San...
Dates:
1917-1919
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Ernest L. Frye Papers
Collection
Identifier: SC 00618
Scope and Contents
This collection contains letters, photographs, and other material documenting Ernest L. Frye's time in the 487th Aero Squadron during World War I. Included in the papers are letters from Frye to his brother and sister describing his fellow officers, reminiscing about friends back home in Oregon, his experience on the Aero squadron baseball team, and other matters. Photographs of Frye along with his fellow officers in the 487th and playing baseball, as well as programs for dances, leave...
Dates:
1917-1918 and undated
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Frances G. Hoppin Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00121-Mss. Acc. 2007.108
Scope and Contents
The papers, 1917-1918 of Frances G. Hoppin who opened the Red Cross Grenelle Dispensary in Paris, France in 1917, which was one of about 30 civilian dispensaries administered by the Red Cross in Paris at that time. This accession consists of both personal papers and records relating to the dispensary.Included are two journals in which Frances Hoppin recorded both her personal experiences as well as business items relating to the dispensary. Also included is a 3-page report on the...
Dates:
1917-1918
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Jefferson H. Clark Collection
Collection
Identifier: MS 00107
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of the papers of Jefferson H. Clark, a Philadelphia, Pennsylvania physician, who was a field surgeon in France during World War I, and of the research papers of his daughter Mary Clark Shade (1928-2009), who was working on a book documenting her father's WWI duty. Jefferson H. Clark's papers include diaries, an officer's record book, correspondence, military orders and records, maps (one of which is labeled 'trench map'), photographs, dictionary, his...
Dates:
1914-2000
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Reed Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2010.055
Scope and Contents
This collection contains the papers and biographic material, 1899-1946, of the Reed family of Floyd County, Virgina and Warren, Ohio. Included are personal letters and photographs, as well as records relating to service of family members in WWI and WWII. The correspondence series consists largely of personal letters written by Asa Daniel Reed to his future wife, Clarence Elizabeth Mangus (later Clarence Elizabeth Reed), during Reed's service in the U.S. Army. Reed's assignments included...
Dates:
1899-1946; Majority of material found in 1910-1946
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Mary Roche and George B. Roche Postcard
Collection
Identifier: SC 00681
Scope and Contents
Postcard, 1918, written by both Mary Roche and George B. Roche. Mary Roche originally sent the postcard to George, a solider in France during World War I, on May 24 1918. The postcard includes a poem entitled "To My Lad in Khaki." On 4 July 1918, George Roche wrote a note to Mary on the same postcard and sent it back to her.
Dates:
1918 May 24
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center